Skip to content

Everyday subaltern

June 1, 2009

At the film stacks of the CCBB library, a woman stopped to ask me what my work is about. When I mentioned Brazilian cinema, she asked with a shade of doubt, ‘Is it really that rich?’ We talked some more, and I told her the research involves violence. ‘Oh, in that case, you’ll have a lot to work with.’ I don’t put too much stock in the subaltern, because as academic jargon it feels quite dated, but I think this is one way it gets manifested. People are reluctant to affirm the productive, fruitful aspects of their culture, and quick to believe the destructive elements.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

